Believe

No, I haven’t utterly disappeared! But I’ve been pulled head over heels back into my writing as I’ve fallen in love with my story again.

What’s it like to be in love with a story? Is it like the puppy-love infatuation teenagers have when they hold hands for the first time or cast shy glances across the classroom at their new-found crush?Image courtesy of Sandra Cunningham @ stockfresh.com

Maybe. Because that’s how it was in the first draft of the story, when everything was rosy and bright and the words flowed onto the page like cream into my coffee, and tasted just as sweet when I read them back to myself. This is when characters lead me by my furiously typing fingers into their world, and didn’t let me go until a hundred thousand or so words later I looked up breathlessly to find that I’d filled another Scrivener document with their adventures.

Now I think my love might have matured into the real thing. This is the love that cleans up the dirty dishes after dinner and mows the lawn on Saturday afternoon. This is the love that gets up early in the morning to cook breakfast before heading off to work, and that welcomes me into its arms telling me I’m beautiful no matter how sweaty and mud spattered I look when I come in from working in the yard.

Revision is this kind of love. This love reads craft books like Save the Cat, Writing the Breakout Novel, and Story Engineering. This love is working with book doctor Jamie Gold  (thanks to a lucky break and a blogiversary prize) to bang out my plot inconsistencies once and for all. This love painstakingly enters each and every comment from my critique partners into worksheets in preparation for yet another draft.

Still, there are moments where my passion for this story makes me feel like a teenager in the throes of her first crush, and that calls for a playlist, don’t you think?

I’ve called it Believe. These are the songs I’m listening to as I keep the faith and finally put together the story I’ve dreamed this would become.Image courtesy of Konstantin Kirillov @ stockfresh

Believe

Click here to visit my playlist on YouTube.

Have you ever fallen in love with a project you thought was past hope? What do you do when you want to restore faith in your abilities?
And, is this leap of faith the real reason they call it ‘make believe’?

Watering can and daisies image courtesy of Sandra Cunningham, daisy image courtesy of Konstantin Kirillov, both @ stockfresh.com
19 thoughts on “Believe

  1. Hey Kirsten!
    Never felt one was beyond hope, although a couple first drafts have annoyed me. But during revision time, I really start to like my manuscripts.
    Glad you have hit that euphoric stage and are wallowing in it!
    And Save the Cat is my favorite writing book.

    1. I loved Save the Cat, but I think Writing the Breakout Novel is my absolute favorite so far. 🙂 And it’s so funny, no matter how many times I go through this manuscript there are still parts of it that surprise me–usually in a good way.

  2. You describe story love so well. That is the best feeling, both on the drafting end (the dream) and the more mature, post editing love (the reality). Sounds like you are going to be my next published bloggy friend very soon.

    1. Gosh, I sure hope so, Shell! But regardless of when and where I publish, I’m learning to love the journey as much as the distant horizon of publication. 🙂

  3. So THAT’s where you’ve been. 😛 I’m excited for you! Jami knows her stuff. I expect great things from you, girl. Can’t wait until you publish. 🙂

    1. Yes, I am so excited to be working with Jamie! I’m pretty sure my story has some problems, but I don’t think there is anything she can’t fix. 🙂

  4. I love how you describe things!! I’ve recently fallen in love with a project I thought would be gone forever . . . but now I’m bringing a fresh pair of eyes to it with a cowriter! Thanks for the playlist–always enjoy those 🙂

  5. It’s a great feeling plunge into the familiar with new abandon! Sounds like you’re making great progress, and having fun at the same time:)

    1. It’s interesting to see the perspective my forays into writing other stories has given me on this one, and really fun to wield this powerful understanding–with abandon. 😉

  6. It’s great to hear from you, Kirsten, in such an upbeat post. You sound like “a girl in love”. You have such a rich, artful way of using descriptive phrases; your words flow like lyrics to a song.

    1. Wow, you are so sweet Sammy!
      Would it surprise you know that I sometimes, when things are really flowing, sing while I write? (When I’m formatting and stuff that doesn’t require actual words, of course.) Music and writing are so closely related for me, that one almost can’t exist without the other: I can’t write in silence, and I can’t listen to music without feeling compelled to write something!
      Hence, the playlists … 😉

      1. No wonder you have such an eclectic playlist!! I sometimes wish music would be an assist, but it actually interferes with my thought process and concentration when I’m trying to do anything requiring my brain! It’s so interesting how we differ in our needs – perhaps some has to do with how we learned to read/study as children. I’m hoping I can use music when I tangle and collage this winter.

        I love that you sometimes sing while you write. That is such a charming vision, and definitely means you are “in the flow”. Does your muse have a backup baritone?? 🙂

  7. Grats on winning! It’s great to hear you’re falling in love again. I don’t know that I’ve lost hope on any of my projects, but I do go in cycles of infatuation.

    I’m looking forward to your final revision!

    1. Hi Loni,
      I noticed that you won too, and am excited to see what you do with your prize. 🙂
      And I’m looking forward to my final revision as well!

Comments are closed.