Backstage at the Blog: V is for Visit

V © A Scenic RouteSometimes hopping onto the worldwide web feels like the world’s biggest cocktail party, with the only exception being that  I can attend wearing my fuzzy slippers!

I can choose from blogs that discuss almost any topic. Writing fiction? Baking a stollen? Flying a dragon-shaped kite? Chasing tornadoes? There will be a blogger who’s devoted pages and pages to his passion.

But what about the etiquette of visits? Is it polite to leave a comment? Is a Like an appropriate token of appreciation?

Appropriate Blogging Footwear
Appropriate Blogging Footwear

In the interest of saving time staying sane, I’ve had to establish a hierarchy of blogging friendship. Bloggers who share the same passion as I do-writing fiction- become instant buddies; I comment and subscribe. Fellow fiction writers who comment on my blog receive a return visit, and more often than not, I will follow.

But how do I decide whether or not to visit all the other blogs I follow via email? While I never miss reading a post from my favorite movie blogs, or writing craft blogs like Larry Brooks and Chuck Wendig, or even my favorite cat blog, Traveling Cats, I rarely visit them.

After all, I can’t talk to everyone at the cocktail party; it would wear me out!

How about you? Do you visit all your blog buddies? Or do you sometimes stay at home and enjoy their posts from the comfort of your Inbox?

And, what is your blogging footwear of choice?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

Slippers image courtesy of Evgeny Karandaev @StockFresh

 

15 thoughts on “Backstage at the Blog: V is for Visit

  1. I make an effort to visit all my friends in my blogger buddy folder in Feedly. Other blogs are grouped by subject and days and I visit when I can. Right now with the Challenge, I have to skip here and there. I also follow a lot of bloggers who aren’t writers but they have awesome blogs.

    1. One of the many benefits of taking on this A to Z challenge is that I’m finally starting to get my system streamlined a bit more. Once in a while though, I end up spending all kinds of time skipping around from random blog to random blog!

  2. It seems like in the writing community comments are common, but there are a lot of popular blogs that seem to have very few comments. It’s interesting. My footwear of choice is no footwear.

  3. Birkenstocks or Keens for me! I was such a newbie before A to Z, I hadn’t yet established a pattern. During A to Z, I am trying to visit everyone and comment daily because this Challenge is all about offering support. I don’t know what will happen after A to Z – will my followers fade away? Will I stop visiting? I hope not on both accounts!

    1. I suspect there will be some decline in follower activity after the A to Z challenge. I, for one, will be happy to take a break. 🙂
      But long term, there are quite a few bloggers I intend to connect with regularly. (Like a certain globetrotting, witty writer with the wacky pseudonym of Sammy Detroit. 😉 )

  4. Except for the footwear choice, I could have written Sammy’s comment above. Due to some events at home, I haven’t been able to do as much blog hopping during the Challenge (or comment as consistently on new blogs as I’d like), but I have started following several new ones. When I get email notifications, rather than reading the post from my email, I use the link and go to the blog itself (as I’m doing right now), and I always try to leave a comment, though I suspect some of them sound pretty lame. Footwear of choice–Old Friend Softsole booties. Best slippers in existence, at least if you live in the Arctic climate of northwestern Wisconsin like I do. http://www.oldfriendfootwear.com/womens-soft-sole-bootee

    1. Oooh, those puppies do look comfy!

      I was (and still am) overwhelmed trying to keep up with all the reading and commenting I ‘should’ be doing during this challenge. I’m thinking after this a ‘normal’ blogging schedule will seem easy. 🙂
      As for comment ‘quality’, I sometimes think writing a nice comment is easier if the blogger phrases interesting questions.

  5. My virtual cocktail footwear of choice is my slipper which are really sandals with no back strap.

    Of course I don’t comment on every post that swooshes through my email. Some are friends that I like to know what’s up with but our interests are not the same. Some post weekly on similar topics so unless it’s of particular interest I don’t comment.

    And as for “like” as with Facebook – like means yeah saw the post got nothing to say. Comments are worth so much more than likes. The funny thing is I get likes from total strangers who never comment and who I’ll never find out who they are. I wonder why they like something or even follow it and then ignore it after that?

    1. I’m seeing a trend toward the comfortable footwear!

      I think need to stop feeling guilty when I read a post in my Inbox and don’t click over to comment.
      And I get those random ‘likes’ here too sometimes. I think some bloggers do it to attract some attention, which can be fun, but often it does seem their blogs are more focused on amassing a large following rather than interacting with individual visitors.

    1. I try to set aside a time to visit everyone who has posted in the past few days, but sometimes that just doesn’t happen.
      Or, sometimes I’m just frantically trying to keep up, as I’ve been in this A to Z challenge! 🙂

  6. I’m like you, visiting people I like to connect with, and just reading people who interest me. I try to visit new people too… but sometimes it’s really difficult for me to connect. I’m not a sympathetic person, which makes my snarky responses inappropriate for someone who is trying for a motivational post. Ah well…

    1. I know what you mean. Some bloggers seem to draw out the funnier parts of my personality, or make me feel I’ve learned something new, so I’m more apt to hop over and comment.

Comments are closed.