Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: T is for Theme

April 23, 2014

T © A Scenic RouteI was lucky when I met my WordPress theme. From the very first post, when I slapped a silly image on the screen and wrote my tentative words, the Vigilance theme has been my stalwart companion.

I was immediately enamored of the randomized header feature and the clean white background that would allow my images to pop out nicely. But as our relationship matured, I discovered other handy features like the grey quote box and learned how to publicize my posts through Twitter.

After three years of semi-regular blogging, Vigilance has never let me down, centering my images, organizing my paragraphs, accepting my wacky fonts. No matter what kind of weirdness I throw at it, my theme makes it look like I know what I’m doing.

What’s this? WordPress is retiring my theme?! Say it isn’t so!

How will I find another theme as sharp and clean as Vigilance? Will my Vigilance theme feel neglected if I try out different themes for size?

I don’t know, but for now, I’m sticking with it!

How did you decide upon your theme? Have you ever had to change it?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

 

22 Comments
  1. April 23, 2014 7:00 am

    I hope Blogger doesn’t retire my background.

    • April 23, 2014 7:29 pm

      I didn’t even know WordPress ever retired themes! But I guess it makes some kind of sense, since new features are invented that the old themes can’t support.
      But still …

  2. melissamaygrove permalink
    April 23, 2014 7:09 am

    I was dragged into blogging, kicking and screaming. LOL
    A writing buddy helped me build my blog. 🙂

    http://soyoureawriter.blogspot.com/2012/03/get-fired-up-reveal.html

    She made some of the blog elements, like the text for my header, but we got the background from Plumrose Lane.

    http://plumroselane-bckgrnds.blogspot.com/p/backgrounds-themes.html

    • April 23, 2014 7:34 pm

      Strange as it might sound, I like playing with this blogging stuff, as long as I’m not on a deadline or anything.
      Your blog always looks very polished and professional! 🙂

  3. April 23, 2014 7:54 am

    My theme is Notepad, and I like it because it looks like exactly the kind of yellow legal pad I keep handy at all times. I had a lot of fun setting it up and customizing it. I do worry sometimes that I’ve never seen it anywhere else–not a single other blog I’ve ever visited uses it–so I wonder sometimes how “professional” it is, but it’s “me” and I like it, so it stays. I’d be really sad if they retired it. Hope you can find a new one you like!

    • April 23, 2014 7:36 pm

      I think your notepad fits you perfectly, and I haven’t seen it anywhere either. 🙂
      So far, I haven’t read any reason why I can’t keep on using Vigilance, but I can see there will come a day when I have to upgrade.

  4. April 23, 2014 8:13 am

    What?? Retiring Vigilant? I’ve never had to change Yoko, but I have used the WP preview feature in Themes to try on new themes once in a while. So far, I’m still happy with mine, but you never know. Hopefully Vigilant’s retirement is still a long way down the road:)

    • April 23, 2014 7:38 pm

      I play with lots of different features on WordPress, but my theme is the one thing I’ve never felt the need to change.
      If I tried a few out, maybe I’d like one of them even better than this one!

  5. Loni Townsend permalink
    April 23, 2014 11:07 am

    I’ve changed my blog theme three or four times. Though I like the clean, professional look of the white backgrounds, I opted to go for something more suited to my personality. I made the background texture and tweaked the color scheme to say “SQUIRREL!” My co-worker thinks it’s hideous. Before that, it was tan and black with a parchment background and responsive layout. Bookish, but a bit too subdued.

    Maybe WordPress will come out with an even better theme for your blog!

    • April 23, 2014 7:40 pm

      I like that your theme is so distinctive, like nothing else out there. Makes me smile every time I visit. 🙂
      After this discussion, I’m starting to get curious about different themes!

  6. April 23, 2014 2:57 pm

    I hope they don’t get rid of mine, although, then again, maybe I do. It would force me to reevaluate how I have mine arranged. I don’t know if I have the time though! Eek!

    • April 23, 2014 7:43 pm

      Hi Melanie!
      Welcome to A Scenic Route. 🙂
      I like making little tweaks to the blog here and there, but a whole new theme does seem like a big undertaking! It’s kind of like rearranging the furniture in a new house–what if it doesn’t all fit inside?
      Yup. Eek! 😉

  7. April 23, 2014 3:29 pm

    I like a simple, clean design so I went with Spun. I’m sure it will eventually change because there are so many choices, but it makes me happy for now.

    • April 23, 2014 7:44 pm

      I will have to check out your design. I like simple and clean. 🙂
      Welcome to A Scenic Route, Camibrite!

  8. Liz Blocker permalink
    April 23, 2014 3:39 pm

    LOL, I’m ashamed to admit that I chose the simplest, cleanest theme and then proceeded to not think about it ever again. I probably should revisit that, eh?

    • April 23, 2014 7:45 pm

      Or maybe I’m just overthinking this! 😉

  9. April 23, 2014 4:11 pm

    I’m in awe of everyone doing this A to Z challenge and all the themes they came up with! Wish I could think of something!

    • April 23, 2014 7:47 pm

      I’m so glad I decided to blog with a theme this month. My imagination seems to work better with some boundaries in place. And of course the pretty letters help too. 🙂

  10. susan permalink
    April 23, 2014 6:17 pm

    when I first started using WP 3 years ago I chose a blue/green scheme. Not sure why. Finally I had it – was difficult to read never mind write and changed it to my current one. I still occasionally see people with that old theme and want to tell them to switch – but I don’t.

    • April 23, 2014 7:49 pm

      I think I know exactly the theme you’re referring to, Susan, and I want to tell them the same thing. It’s super hard to read, and looks a little cluttered for my taste.
      And then there’s those blogs that are all black with a tiny white font …
      I think I’m always going to prefer some kind of a clean white background.

  11. April 24, 2014 10:05 am

    My blog is a wordpress based blog, but I have someone who does all the tech work for me.
    I told him what I wanted for my header logo/slogan and he did the rest.
    I prefer a clean, simple appearance and a basic readable font.
    Writer In Transit

    • April 25, 2014 6:06 pm

      Hi Michelle,
      You have a really professional looking blog! It’s very easy to navigate and read. 🙂

Comments are closed.

