Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: Q is for Quote

April 19, 2014

Q © A Scenic RouteI’ve always considered it good manners to be very clear when the words I’m posting belong to someone else–even when the words are my own, but belong in a story …

That’s where the quote box comes in handy. Block Quote

My theme determines what the quote box will look like, and mine happens to be a beautiful shade of sepia that looks especially enticing when set off with feathers.

How about something Muse-worthy?

Image courtesy of Gerla Brakkee @stock.xchng“Writing and reading decrease our sense of isolation…We are given a shot at dancing with, or at least clapping along with, the absurdity of life, instead of being squashed by it over and over again. It’s like singing on a boat during a terrible storm at sea. You can’t stop the raging storm, but singing can change the hearts and spirits of the people who are together on that ship.” ~ Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

 

How do you credit someone’s words on your blog? Do you have any favorite quotes to share?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

Feather image courtesy of Gerla Brakkee @stock.xchng

18 Comments
  1. April 19, 2014 9:56 am

    I used a quote today in fact! I used quotations, bold and highlight, and link to the source. Usually the only quotes I post are review blurbs and snippets from movie news sites.

    • April 19, 2014 10:27 am

      Yes, you are very clear what parts are the reviewed sections, and which are your own comments. Linking back to the source is also a good idea.

  2. April 19, 2014 11:51 am

    WordPress has lovely quote boxes. I don’t think blogger does that. I’m not much of a quoter on my blog, but I usually just use quotation marks and link to the person if possible.

    • April 19, 2014 8:13 pm

      I was pleasantly surprised when I hit that quote button to see that nice-looking quote box appear on my post! I think that sometimes I quote things just so I can use it. 🙂

  3. April 19, 2014 1:41 pm

    I can’t think at the moment of anyone I’ve quoted in a blog. Perhaps in a book review. I do use the quote box – it comes out as italic on my theme and then I may add a different colour to it to make it stand out

    • April 19, 2014 8:15 pm

      If I can’t find anyone to quote, I quote myself … that’s probably strange, isn’t it? 😉
      I like your idea of using color to change things up a bit!

  4. April 19, 2014 3:20 pm

    Just read your comment on mine. I’ve got a fair bit about this character. He’s based on someone I know. That’s a great compliment that you wanted to know more Thank you

    • April 19, 2014 8:16 pm

      Yes, I felt as if your snippet was only the beginning! 🙂

  5. April 19, 2014 5:03 pm

    I haven’t used the quote box (so many things to try yet) but I use quote marks and italics as well as author’s name. I will see what my theme offers. Thank you for all these lessons. They are very helpful and just the right amount of info so as not to overwhelm.

    • April 19, 2014 8:20 pm

      I’m glad these posts didn’t come across as too pedantic as I was worried they might. Maybe it’s because I’m so excited to share my little discoveries. 🙂

      • April 19, 2014 9:49 pm

        Not at all, Kirsten. Yours are perfect for a new WP learner’s speed, and it really helps for you to show the portion of the WP screen in your post. I will definitely be using all of these in the future. I wish you made house calls. 🙂

  6. April 19, 2014 5:51 pm

    Wow, talk about kismet! Same Q topic! I do use quotes a lot but have never used the quote box. I actually just noticed it today and made a mental note to myself to try it sometime, though it wouldn’t have worked well for today’s post. I actually didn’t credit the source of any of the quotes I used today (except for my footnote), but usually I either use footnotes or link back to the original sources.

    • April 19, 2014 8:21 pm

      I had to smile when I saw your topic in my Inbox! 🙂
      I will be curious to see what the quote box looks like in your yellow note pad them. I’ll bet it’s a fun one.

  7. April 20, 2014 12:46 pm

    I just use regular quotes. Honestly, I’m so busy/lazy I haven’t explored much of Word Press at all, but you’ve showed us such cool stuff I can’t wait to use it. So, that said, I’m posting a poll today!

    • April 20, 2014 1:21 pm

      I’ll be there to weigh in! I’m always pleasantly surprised by how easy some of this stuff is, and excited to share. 🙂

  8. April 21, 2014 10:56 pm

    I’ve never used this feature, I may just have to find a reason to!

    • April 22, 2014 7:08 pm

      I was happy and surprised to see how nice my quote box looked in this theme. I’ll be curious to see what it looks like in yours!

Trackbacks

  1. Backstage at the Blog: T is for Theme | A Scenic Route

Comments are closed.

