Backstage at the Blog: P is for Poll

P © A Scenic RouteActually, I’ve always wanted to do a poll, so how about I take the leap today? Let’s talk about the A to Z Challenge. Tell me what you think:

That was easy! All I did was click on the ‘Add Poll’  button at the top of the post:

Screen shot 2014-03-26 at 9.37.38 PM

From there, I got a menu where I could fill out my questions and answers. I could even select one of twenty different PollDaddy style templates. I chose an island theme of course!Screen shot 2014-03-26 at 9.56.07 PM

Have you ever done a poll on your blog? Do you agree with the results of my A-Z Challenge poll?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

Image courtesy of Michal Zacharzewski @stock.xchng

29 thoughts on “Backstage at the Blog: P is for Poll

  1. I didn’t know this was available. Pretty cool! I couldn’t choose an answer on yours–it’s usually the first, sometimes the second, and once or twice the third–so I wrote in “all of the above!” 🙂

    1. Yup, same here–usually somewhere in the middle with my coffee at my side. Fifty days of this would really cut into my novel writing time!

    1. They are fun, but I might have to gain more followers before I get a decent sample. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to put one in though.

  2. well done! I’ve answered polls but never inserted one myself. But now I know if I ever wish to it’s easy – thank you !

    1. I was curious about this feature myself and thought this might be good chance to try it out. I’m happy to share how easy it was. 🙂

    1. Hi Michelle,
      There are an amazing variety of templates, although I can see that mine interferes with the type on the responses somewhat.
      But for the first time, I’ll take it. 🙂
      Hope you’re having fun at A to Z!

  3. It looks like adding a poll isn’t a default option for self-hosted .org sites. But I’m sure there’s a plug-in around here somewhere…

  4. Neat. I didn’t realize how easily polls could be added. 🙂

    This is a test to see how WP handles my url. 🙂 dreamersloversandstarvoyagers.blogspot.com

    I think I read somewhere that WP automatically converts them to active links.

    1. Yup, any http etc. converts automatically–although too many links will land a comment in my spam folder!
      Your name links me to your blog as well. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, and for sharing all the info about profiles on your blog. I learned a lot just now, and, who knows, you may end up featured in one of my Backstage at the Blog posts!

  5. Okay, my experimenting is done. 🙂

    Kristen, if you want to leave a live link on a Blogger blog, try this:

    [a href=https://ascenicroute.wordpress.com/]A Scenic Route[/a] but replace the [ with a

    You’ll notice that I already pasted your information into the string. It’s ready to ink back to your blog. I tested it on a comment on y Blogger blog. It’s good. Brought me back here.

    The simplest way to do this–if you don’t want to have to remember it is to copy what I’ve typed there and save it on your computer. When you want to leave a comment on a Blogger blog, copy it, paste it into the comment box of the Blogger blog, and then replace the four brackets [ ] with .

  6. Good Lord! lol. I still have much to learn. WP took out my > and my ad this [ becomes < . WP might cut them again. I'm typing the symbols for greater than and less than. But in code, it recognizes them as something different.

    1. Sometimes the easiest way to see if something works is to try it out!
      Thanks for all the info, Teresa. I’ve had a bit of a blogging ‘level-up’ today. 🙂

Comments are closed.