Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: N is for Notifications

April 16, 2014

N © A Scenic RouteWant to know when your peeps stop by the blog? Then it’s time to set up your notifications.

You’ll find that option and more in the WordPress discussion settings, where you can fine tune exactly how much interaction happens between the blog and your email.

Do you want visitors to leave a name and email before commenting? Do you want the comments left open for an extended length of time? And how deep do you want those discussions to go? Is seven levels just too much conversation?

Comments, likes, reblogs and new followers can all be set up land to in your Inbox unless you disable these functions. And, if you’re out and about, you can even reply to a comment via email. Now there’s really no excuse for not replying to your comments!

Here’s a shot of what my settings look like:

Screen shot 2014-03-27 at 9.10.42 PM

I have everything pretty much wide open. Maybe I’m just insecure, but it still makes my day when someone stops by and likes or follows something I’ve written!

How about you? Do you hang on every visitor, hoping for some blog-lovin’? Or do you prefer to wait until you’re back in front of your blog to see who stopped by?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

25 Comments
  1. April 16, 2014 8:12 am

    Great N and info. You’re the best!

  2. April 16, 2014 8:33 am

    What a helpful post. I’ll have to look in my settings and see what I can do.
    I just signed up for an email subscription to your blog. And looking forward to more posts.
    From a fellow A to Z’er, Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

    • April 17, 2014 6:27 pm

      Hi Debi,
      I was happy to see that I can control the amount of email I get, and change it if it gets overwhelming.
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!

  3. April 16, 2014 9:03 am

    I get a lot of emails already, so I just check back at my blog. I do have owner approval on older posts though. Keeps out the spammers.

    • April 17, 2014 6:28 pm

      I’ll bet you’d get an avalanche of emails if you connected your email to your blog! Good idea setting up approval on the older posts too.

  4. April 16, 2014 9:18 am

    I check my blog for comments and notifications to responses to comments I’ve made on other peoples blogs. It’s a busy place to be the blog but I do enjoy it.

    • April 17, 2014 6:32 pm

      I enjoy being on the blog too! 🙂
      I check for replies on my comments on the blog as well, but I find reading the comments on posts in my email more convenient for now. I can see there might be a time when I might just want to read them here though.

  5. Liz Blocker permalink
    April 16, 2014 9:56 am

    Ok, you’re inspiring me to figure out how this works on Blogger. Going to explore now – and thank you for the motivation!! 🙂

    • April 17, 2014 6:33 pm

      You’re welcome, Liz!
      Welcome to A Scenic Route. 🙂

  6. April 16, 2014 1:31 pm

    I think we all love and appreciate comments, and you have given everyone some good tips on how to stay on top of notifications. I still prefer to wait until I get home to log into my website to reply to comments, but the option to reply via email is probably good for someone who has a smart phone, and is out a lot.

    • April 17, 2014 6:34 pm

      Hi Julia,
      I think my preference will always be to sit at my keyboard as well, preferably with a cup of coffee at my side! 😉

  7. lonitownsend permalink
    April 16, 2014 1:55 pm

    I get notifications sent via email, and usually view them right away. It’s not always easy to respond via phone, but if I have time, I try to. It’s easier when I’m at a computer though.

    • April 17, 2014 6:36 pm

      You are awesome to respond to comments right away! I usually have to wait and do them in a big block (and I’m thrilled that I have so many to respond to! 🙂 )

  8. April 16, 2014 3:22 pm

    Right now I receive email notifications for comments, new followers, and pingbacks. I was surprised to see all of the options on the list you posted and am going to have to go back and see if there are any settings in mine that I’d like to change. Thanks for the helpful and informative post!

    • April 17, 2014 6:37 pm

      You’re welcome, Melinda. 🙂
      I thought it was cool enough to share, and I was especially curious how other people managed their settings.

  9. susan permalink
    April 16, 2014 3:39 pm

    Yea mine is similar to yours. Some of my friends like to comment back and forth so I recently opened another layer – 4 I think – In my other writing group we met on my space where you could comment til the cows come home. It’s like a conversation

    • April 17, 2014 6:41 pm

      It sounds like your writing group might have some kind of forum software in place. As for layers, I just learned (in the course of the A-Z Challenge 🙂 ) a way to keep the comment boxes from getting too tall and skinny if the conversation gets a lot of levels: Just click the reply box above the last comment, instead of the reply for the actual comment. Try it; it works! 🙂

  10. April 16, 2014 5:20 pm

    This post gave me a chuckle, and I’ll tell you why. I have the WordPress app downloaded on my phone so that I know if someone leaves me a comment or anything else interesting happens. I’m the kind of person who loves those notifications. But here’s the thing…my blog has been pretty quiet since it’s conception, but this past month during the A to Z Challenge it has been much, MUCH more active. Where I used to get 1 or 2 likes per post, and MAYBE a comment every few posts, now I’m getting a bunch of likes and comments per day, plus people navigating to my Author page on Facebook. So, to make a long story short, my phone has been going nuts, and my husband twitches a little every time it makes a jingly noise. lol

    • April 17, 2014 6:44 pm

      Yeah, I always like to know when someone stops by, and even though I don’t have a smart phone, 😦 my email has never been so busy! It’s nice to know that I can slow things down if I decide it’s distracting.

      • April 18, 2014 10:17 am

        I’m obsessed with knowing when someone stops by. lol I must check my stats a dozen times a day at least.

  11. April 21, 2014 10:54 pm

    Oh, I definitely get a little obsessive checking my notifications and stats…when the bar gets too low sometimes it gets me into gear to post!

    • April 22, 2014 7:06 pm

      I’m not really about the stats, but I agree, when see my ‘sparkle meter’ flatline, it does make me think I’d better get something going over here …

      • April 22, 2014 7:38 pm

        I am surprised and delighted that you responded to every single one of my comments. LOL

        • April 22, 2014 7:45 pm

          I’m surprised and delighted that you took the time to comment on so many of my posts!

Comments are closed.

