Backstage at the Blog: L is for Link

L © A Scenic RouteLinks are the impulse purchase of the blogging world. Want to know more about that highlighted name, concept, or post? Just click the link and the worldwide web will whisk you there in seconds. Not only are links convenient for the reader, but I’ve only recently learned they improve the SEO ranking of the blog that sports them.

The drawback? In my opinion, too many links dilute the impact of the post itself, drawing the reader’s attention this way and that, until he gives up in frustration of ever getting to the point. It’s like going to the grocery store for a gallon of milk and being assaulted by displays for chocolate covered strawberries and fresh pizza by the slice at every turn.

Image courtesy of Michal Zacharzewski @stock.xchng
Yum! Let’s stop and have a bite to eat, shall we?

In any case, adding the links to a post is easy. Simply highlight the word or phrase that you want to connect to the new site, and a grey chain link will activate in the tool bar.

.

Screen shot Link Button
Clicking the chain icon will pull up a link window.
Screen shot 2014-03-27 at 11.58.57 AM
The words to be linked are highlighted in blue.

 

 

 

.

 

.

.Click on the chain link to bring up the Link window then enter the destination site, along with a title you’d like the reader to see upon hovering above the link before committing to clicking over.

Screen shot 2014-03-27 at 12.00.02 PMSee how easy that is?

How about you? Do you sprinkle your posts with lots of links? Or do you find an overabundance of them annoying?

(And … here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

Pizza image courtesy of Michal Zacharzewski @stock.xchng

15 thoughts on “Backstage at the Blog: L is for Link

    1. Links are great in small quantities! In fact I think I remember which one you left–it was to Scapple, of which I am now a proud owner and happy user. 🙂

  1. I’ve done a few here and there, but I try not to overdo it. My problem is in remembering to check the “open in a new tab” box. If I forget, I fear my reader will never come back and finish reading my post!

    1. That’s exactly why I think links can be so distracting. Even on another page, a reader could simply run out of time to go back and read the original post.
      I know this because it happens to me!

  2. I do put links in my posts, but agree that too many isn’t good. I also think it’s important to have them open in a new window, so readers don’t stray too far from your post. For SEO purposes, the link text should describe the link content rather than say “link here” or something generic, or so I’ve read. Also, people like it when you link to them.

    1. I don’t mind linking to people at all because I like to give credit when it’s due. But I didn’t know the text under the link mattered. I will keep that in mind for the future. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Have to say, the first line of this post made me chuckle. lol
    That said, I agree that too many links is a bad thing. I try to keep my links for when I write serious posts that require proof of point or research and the like. 🙂

    1. I find myself linking to Wikipedia a lot, in case readers want to know more, or names of writers that I’m quoting. It feels like the right thing to do, as long as I’m doing it to help my readers, not to promote some other agenda.

  4. I use links when referencing the blog responding to as in a challenge or a bit of info people should know

    ON a new challenge I was told to put the badge into my post. I hadn’t a clue. But since writers are the most helpful and supportive of folks someone directed me to the right side of the post and two boxes that say “text” and “view” who knew? I put the code for the badge in the text one and when view it in the post it’s there!! a bit of magic I never knew

    1. Interesting way to paste a badge into a post, Susan! I usually just drag the image into the media file, unless I’m using a widget, (guess what my W post is going to be about? 😉 ) then I use text.
      I learn so much from fellow bloggers and writers!

Comments are closed.