Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: H is for Header

April 9, 2014

H2 © A Scenic RouteI couldn’t decide what kind of header would best represent the all the amazing places my writing journey takes me.

So I chose a theme that allowed me to randomize my header! The Vigilance theme allows me a virtually unlimited selection of headers which, as you can see from this screenshot of my header page, I take full advantage of:

Screen shot 2014-03-27 at 8.42.47 AMI’ve never actually been to any of the places on featured at the top of my page, but that’s exactly why I’ve chosen such exotic images: My words can take me anywhere! I’ve even thought about including a fantasy style picture to greet visitors along my scenic route.

And where do I find all these lovely pictures? Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post, the fabulous letter ‘I’!

What’s on your blog’s header? How did you decide on the perfect header image? Should I incorporate a fantasy image on my header?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

24 Comments
  1. April 9, 2014 6:47 am

    That’s cool you can change it out. Now I’ll be checking it out every time I visit.
    Jeremy made my header for me, and when my third book came out, he added an image from the cover so all three books are represented. I think it rocks.

    • April 9, 2014 8:11 pm

      You know, Alex … if you changed out your header like I do you could have a different one for each book! Although, your site is pretty amazing just the way it is right now. 🙂

  2. April 9, 2014 8:37 am

    At first, I didn’t realize you had a rotating header. I think I commented once that I liked the new one, thinking you’d changed it. LOL

    • April 9, 2014 8:12 pm

      I did add a few more at the beginning of the year, but I kept some of the old ones as well. So you’re right, I did get a new header–or two. 😉

  3. April 9, 2014 9:45 am

    Thank you for the information on your Header. I plan to invest some time after A to Z in finding a theme that gives me more options than the one I’m currently using, and this one looks promising for several reasons.

    • April 9, 2014 8:14 pm

      Well, Sammy, as I was doing these posts, I discovered that my current theme, Vigilance, has been retired. I was so sad! I guess as a result I will be forced to shop for a new theme myself soon, but randomized header will always be on my wish list.

  4. April 9, 2014 11:27 am

    I chose my theme based on the default header. It has nothing to do with branding. I just liked it. I’ve always liked chandeliers and beautiful hallways that look like they belong in France or Some Other European Manor.

    As for your header, I think it depends. What do you want this blog to be? Is the theme going to be writing, or a genre, or something else entirely? Do you even want it to remain a blog, or do you want to turn it into a site for your books? The focus, I think, is going to be what drives the images you present.

    Personally, if this stays a writing blog, I think the headers you have look great. 🙂

    • April 9, 2014 8:16 pm

      You hallway of mirrors and windows looks magical, Amy!
      Interesting thoughts about my header. I think this will always stay a writing blog, and if I have books to sell (imagine that!) I’ll put them on another page or on the sidebar.

      • April 9, 2014 8:34 pm

        They do? Wow. I guess I kind of stumbled into that, lol.

        And thank you. 🙂

  5. April 9, 2014 12:31 pm

    The first header for my blog was an image I found of a pen and pencil laying on a piece of paper. I added my blog’s title (No Page Left Blank) and there you have it. But after a while I started to feel that the header wasn’t personal enough, so I decided to take my own picture for a new header. I dug out three of my notebooks (the ones I used to write when a computer isn’t available), and flipped each one to a page with a different color pen. I piled them on top of each other and BAM! Instant header photo. It’s personal now because you can actually read MY words there if you like. ^_~

    • April 9, 2014 8:18 pm

      I kinda wondered if those were your own words! It’s cool that you write in all those colored pens, because it makes it an interesting visual. 🙂

      • April 10, 2014 5:45 pm

        I definitely wasn’t thinking that when I started writing in different colored pens (I use the colors to make it easy to differentiate between what I wrote on different days), but it certainly worked out nicely! ❤

  6. April 9, 2014 4:44 pm

    My first version didn’t have a header. Then I changed themes and decided to purchase a pic from one of the sites.That’s on my regular blog. For this one since I was Publicizing my book I wanted to use the cover. I gave up the art sites a while ago too much trouble. But I found one not too difficult to use and spent hours getting the banner. Finally it worked. Good thing I’m stubborn lol

    • April 9, 2014 8:19 pm

      Yes, I think it’s cool how your avatar, header and your book are unified!

  7. April 9, 2014 5:28 pm

    My header is simply my name. I like the idea of the changing images. I like how you chose the exotic images to represent where words can take you.

    • April 9, 2014 9:00 pm

      Thanks, R Scott!
      My writing is all about the images, so maybe that’s why the idea of a somewhat random header appealed to me so much.
      Welcome to A Scenic Route! 🙂

  8. April 9, 2014 7:59 pm

    I picked my header from a multitude of fantastic star photos. SFR needs the beauty of the universe to balance stories of adventure, romance, and chaos! I love your moving header, but a bit of fantasy would be great.

    • April 9, 2014 8:21 pm

      What I like about the random header is that it’s easy to add another image to keep things interesting. You never know what you might see at the top of my page, kind of like how I feel when I’m writing. 🙂

  9. April 9, 2014 8:06 pm

    That’s very cool that you can change it out. I’m not very visually creative, so mine is just a Google template.

    • April 9, 2014 8:23 pm

      Yes, I knew the busier themes weren’t for me, because I always seem to have the need to customize everything. I see a lot of people do real well with the more colorful templates.

  10. April 10, 2014 12:52 pm

    I think a fantasy theme would be terrific. Or maybe a picture of your Muse? But at the same time, I love your philosophy, and the changing headers are totally appropriate for the blog’s title. I’m wondering how often they change, since I almost always see the same one when I come by. Do you change them yourself, or does WP do it on some kind of rotation schedule?

    • April 10, 2014 9:20 pm

      WP is supposed to change them randomly, and when I visit I always see a different one up there. Hopefully you’ll get a chance to see some different ones, since I think they’re all quite pretty.

      I’ve always thought it might be fun to try and get an image of exactly what my Muse looks like on the page, but … it’s funny, it seems I can capture him better with words than with physical images. When I write, he’s clear to me, but when I look at photos, there’s parts that fit and parts that don’t.
      I think he’s laughing at my attempts to make him real. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Backstage at the Blog: T is for Theme | A Scenic Route
  2. HEM THE LONDON BLOG: Our new header image goes live | HalfEatenMind

Comments are closed.

