Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: D is for Discussion

April 4, 2014

D-Lookie CookieI love interacting with my commenters! And, lucky for me, WordPress has a setting for that.

For example, if I go to the settings menu in the dashboard, I can decide how long I want the discussion to go on. Seven levels is about as far as things can go before the letters get a little squished. Mike Schulenberg, a long time follower of mine, is a huge fan of this type of discussion. It can go on, and on, and on …Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 2.55.10 PMBut wait, there’s more!Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 3.06.56 PM

Sometimes the discussion is even longer than the blog post that inspired it. And you know what that means?

Yup, another blog post about that discussion!

What do you do to promote discussions on your blog? How deep does your comment pool go? And, are we having fun yet?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

26 Comments
  1. April 4, 2014 7:31 am

    I think mine is set at…five? Maybe? I have no idea. O_O

    As for discussion, I’ve found I’ve never been able to encourage it. Either people talk, or they don’t. I love reading the reactions of bloggers who find a post they thought was fairly innocuous ends up with 50+ comments because, for whatever reason, it fired people up. I like avoiding controversy, so I doubt I’ll ever be surprised like that…but you never know!

    • April 4, 2014 12:41 pm

      I’m sometimes surprised when what I thought was a pretty lame post elicits comments. Sometimes I think it’s just good timing, and not the subject matter itself. I’m not a big fan of stirring up controversy for it’s own sake either, but there are subjects that I’m genuinely curious to know what others think–so I’m not afraid to ask! 🙂

  2. April 4, 2014 8:10 am

    Now that’s the long and skinny!
    I always ask questions at the end to get people talking.

    • April 4, 2014 12:43 pm

      Questions are great Alex, even if they’re not a big deal, they’re genuine and fun. I think, in general, people like to supply input, if given some encouragement. 🙂

  3. April 4, 2014 9:10 am

    I love hosting discussions on my blog, and I make a point of posing questions (in bold letters) at the bottom of most of my posts to encourage just this sort of thing. Unfortunately most of the time no one bothers to comment, which makes me sad. lol On the upside this A to Z Challenge has done wonders for getting discussions going! Here’s hoping it keeps up once the challenge is done!

    • April 4, 2014 12:45 pm

      I agree, Tracey. Discussions are part of what make blogging fun for me, and the A to Z has really livened things up around here! Questions are a great way to give readers some direction with their comments.

  4. April 4, 2014 9:48 am

    I’ve learned something today! Thanks! I didn’t even know I had such options (I’m such a newbie!), but so far, it’s never been an issue for me anyway. Something to aspire to!

    • April 4, 2014 12:49 pm

      There are a lot of menus back there in the dashboard, and I actually enjoy playing with the settings and seeing how things work! I’m so happy to be able to share what I’ve learned in my explorations. 🙂

  5. April 4, 2014 10:35 am

    I started laughing when I saw your mischievous D.

    Ending posts with a question is a good technique, but I have seen it overdone or almost formulaic. I have a few followers with whom I sometimes “discuss”, and I enjoy that. Participating in A to Z has brought some new engaged readers (who I follow), and I’m hoping these will flower into ongoing relationships.

    • April 4, 2014 12:52 pm

      Don’t you want to just take that letter ‘D’ home with you? 😉

      I know what you mean about formulaic questions. Usually these are questions that don’t stem from the post itself. And while the A to Z has been quite challenging for me so far, I’m still glad I’m doing it. I’m meeting some wonderful new cyber friends. 🙂

      • April 4, 2014 1:03 pm

        I smugly opine on formulaic questions on the day my post consists entirely of questions!

        I agree – challenging but definitely worthwhile. I am so jazzed about all the thoughts and potential posts I’m frantically trying to hold in my head or scribbling on paper that are triggered by bloggers I’m meeting. It feels frenetic now, but I am positive at the end of the month I will have met a few that I truly want to stay connected with. YOU 🙂

  6. April 4, 2014 11:57 am

    That’s one of my favorite things about the online community. I love interacting with people who are wiser and smarter than me!

    Sarah Allen
    (From Sarah, With Joy)

    • April 4, 2014 12:55 pm

      Hi Sarah,
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!
      I’m still amazed by how much I’m learning from all the blogs I’ve been subscribing to. My favorite blogs are always those that invite discussions and where the blog’s owner replies to questions and thoughts of their readers.
      That’s why I strive to do the same. 🙂

  7. April 4, 2014 5:06 pm

    for my A-Z I do have questions at the end. For my other writing group the comments can go longer than the post. I met my writing group on my space where we could placed pics and vids in the comment. I have another friend whose comments are worth reading as well. it’s all in the discussion

    • April 4, 2014 7:10 pm

      I know! On some blogs the discussions are as interesting as the posts themselves. 🙂

  8. April 4, 2014 7:48 pm

    I have not had any discussion per say, mainly comments of liking, thanking, and stopping by. I need to get more clever with my blog topics.

    • April 5, 2014 12:45 pm

      I think your blog topics are plenty clever so far. Some topics just invite more discussion than others. Just be yourself, and you’ll see! People love to chat. 🙂

  9. April 4, 2014 7:53 pm

    Don’t think I’ve had many comments on comments, but it’s nice to know about that option.
    Sue Ann Bowling
    Homecoming Blog
    Stormy’s Sidekick
    Blogging from A to Z April Challenge

    • April 5, 2014 12:47 pm

      Hi Sue Ann,
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!
      Comments on comments are especially fun, but I agree, most people move between blogs too quickly to return for more chatting. But it’s good to be ready!

  10. April 4, 2014 9:15 pm

    A question at the end of a blog gives my followers something to ponder and a reason to respond. Works almost everytime:)

    Love the D font!

    • April 5, 2014 12:49 pm

      Questions are great, aren’t they? Coming up with them is an art in itself, but I think one that improves with practice!

  11. April 5, 2014 2:13 am

    I like the letters you made. They’re quite artistic. Well done. As to commenting… I don’t get many people to comment on my blogposts but that’s probably because I don’t often ask questions. I should try though. We’ll see how it goes.

    • April 5, 2014 12:52 pm

      Hi Cat,
      Thanks! I used the Art Text program that Holly recommends to make my letters for this challenge. As you can see, I had way too much fun with it!
      I think putting a few questions up there makes it a lot easier for visitors to comment, and it’s nice to get feedback on my posts. 🙂

  12. April 5, 2014 8:31 am

    I’m curious how you’re going to get through the entire alphabet. Good luck. It’s makes for fun reading.

    • April 5, 2014 12:54 pm

      Hi Kristina,
      I have all my posts except for Y and Z drafted already. 🙂 If I didn’t, It would be really hard to keep up with posting and commenting and visiting!
      I’m glad you’re enjoying them–they were a lot of fun to write.

Comments are closed.

