Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: B is for Blogroll

April 2, 2014

B ยฉ A Scenic RouteToday I’d like to talk about that list of websites on the side of my blog called the blogroll. At first, this list mystified me. Where does it come from?

Heck, it’s like standing in front of a hoity-toity night club back in my college days all over again! Who gets inside? Who stands outside watching the cool kids march by? And who decides which blogs make the cut?

Guess what? I do!

Backstage at the WordPress dashboard, all I have to do is click the links button where I can add new links, edit old ones, and sort them to my heart’s content.Screen shot 2014-03-16 at 6.08.12 PM

Way back in Girl Scouts we used to sing:

Make new friends, but keep the old

Those are silver; these are gold ~Joseph Parry

In keeping with this philosophy it seems my blogroll keeps getting longer and longer … I’m guessing that’s a good thing!

What does it take to get on your blogroll? Did you stand outside the night club in your college days? Or were you one of the cool kids who got in?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

37 Comments
  1. April 2, 2014 7:40 am

    Happy day 2, or B day. This info will be helpful if I ever start a WordPress blog, which I do consider sometimes. In college I only went to Grateful Dead shows and not clubs. I didn’t always get a ticket, so sometimes I was outside.

    • April 2, 2014 5:45 pm

      I’ll bet even outside the Grateful Dead concert was cool!
      If you ever decide to hop over to WordPress, I’d be happy to help you along the learning curve. (It’s pretty easy, though. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  2. April 2, 2014 8:49 am

    I confess, I’m not sure exactly what a blogroll is. Is it a list of virtual friends? People who regularly visit each others’ sites? Or maybe people who blog on similar topics? Please forgive my ignorance–I’m still learning!

    • April 2, 2014 5:49 pm

      I was puzzled about the blogroll myself, which is part of the reason for this post. I’m curious how other people set up their blogroll!
      For me, I use it to link to people that I visit often, as well as places that I need to keep handy (like the HTTS site. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I make it public so my visitors can connect with the people I enjoy as well. I’ve heard being on someone’s blogroll improves one’s SEO score, or something like that, hence my comment about being a ‘cool kid’! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. April 2, 2014 9:56 am

    Thank you! A lesson in Word Press – sounds like I can prioritize on blogroll which I can’t do on “blogs I follow”. Will certainly explore this after the April Challenge madness ends.

    I wouldn’t have gotten into the night clubs ( except for one magical night in NYC) – in fact I rarely feel like I fit anywhere. I follow bloggers from all generations, many cultures, and a wide variety of topics, photos, and artwork. Everyday I receive new sensations, stunning visuals and perspectives from talented writers whose lives are so different from mine. It’s like a smorgasbord if life.

    • April 2, 2014 5:56 pm

      You’re so right, Sammy D. Blogging has allowed me to meet so many different kinds of people, and broadened my horizons considerably. Maybe that’s why it’s so much fun!
      The blogroll differs from the blogs I follow because I can list anything that I need to access quickly, not necessarily just blogs, but websites as well.

  4. April 2, 2014 9:59 am

    Kirsten – chatty me – i forgot to say your coppery B is … Shiny! And I never knew where our Girl Scout singsong came from. Thank you, Joseph Perry!

    • April 2, 2014 6:01 pm

      Thanks, Sammy! Your homemade chocolate sprinkle B is pretty awesome too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • April 2, 2014 6:42 pm

        Aww you’re sweet. And I was supposed to be chatty, not catty. LOL I hate catty women!! Sometimes chatty ones, too. But I’ll stop talking NOW.

        • April 2, 2014 6:54 pm

          I think you’re going to get a kick out of my letter ‘D’ !

  5. April 2, 2014 10:33 am

    Wow, the “A to Z Challenge!” and a great topic- blogroll. I am a wordpress rookie, and never quite sure how to manage that blogroll. Thanks for the tip ๐Ÿ™‚ I know that I actually find a lot of good blogs to follow by clicking through the blogrolls on sites i like, so it is a good thing to have on your blog, I think.

    • April 2, 2014 6:03 pm

      Hi Amelia!
      Yeah, the blogroll is pretty useful to me, and easy to set up. Of course, it’s a bonus if my visitors check out my blogging friends there as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. April 2, 2014 12:30 pm

    I was not, nor will I ever be, one of the “cool kids”. lol Just sayin’.
    As for the blogroll thing…I don’t really have one per se, but I follow any blog that interests me with at least one really good post. ^_~

    • April 2, 2014 6:12 pm

      I sometimes wonder if the cool kids even know they’re cool–what’s it like to be a cool kid? (I think there’s story in there somewhere … ; ) )
      And I agree one really good post can bring me on board a new blog too.

  7. April 2, 2014 12:49 pm

    Yeah, mine keeps getting longer as well. That’s why I have five of them total!

    • April 2, 2014 6:13 pm

      Yeah, I noticed that. Your blogroll just goes on and on and on! Fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. April 2, 2014 1:43 pm

    That Girl Scout song has been ingrained in my mind as well. It’s always good to make new friends, but it’s sometimes hard when your friendship pool keeps growing.
    I don’t have a blogroll yet, but maybe I should start working on that. It’s good to acknowledge the friends I have.

    • April 2, 2014 6:22 pm

      Isn’t it funny how the things we learn as kids stay with us like that?
      I’m real big in staying in touch with old friends, which is why I like the blogroll so much. It keeps track of everyone I’ve met online in one handy place. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Welcome to A Scenic Route!

  9. melissamaygrove permalink
    April 2, 2014 2:11 pm

    Thanks to you, I’m gonna have that silver and gold song in my head the rest of the day. ๐Ÿ˜›

    I don’t have a blogroll. My sidebar is too busy as it is. LOL
    I have thought of adding a widget that scrolls my friends’ book covers though.

    IWSG #243, until Alex culls the list again.

    • April 2, 2014 6:24 pm

      A widget with book covers would be amazing! (I don’t think they have that for WordPress, though.)
      I had no idea so many other former Girl Scouts know that song! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. April 2, 2014 3:44 pm

    I don’t display my blogroll, although I have a long list of blogs I visit regularly.

    • April 2, 2014 6:26 pm

      Hi Carol,
      I did have a few private links, but ultimately decided that it would be okay to display those too. (They’re websites, who usually appreciate some extra linky love. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  11. April 2, 2014 4:18 pm

    Yeah, thanks for that darn song!! And, the beautiful art. As for the college club, our student newspaper started our own, so we were always first in line:)

    • April 2, 2014 6:44 pm

      Heh, good one–if the club is too fussy for us, we’ll just start our own!

  12. April 2, 2014 4:36 pm

    Didn’t do much night-clubbing during college. Usually attended or held private parties. Heck, who had money to buy ready-made drinks? My blogroll grew too long to be practical. I had to start adding sites to my Favorites toolbar and make folders. Don’t want to miss anyone.
    Gail visiting for AtoZ

    • April 2, 2014 6:56 pm

      Hi Gail,
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!
      I do worry that my blogroll will expand beyond the limits of WordPress someday. (Who me? Popular? Tell me it’s not true!) Thanks for an idea on how to keep track of everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And I agree–private parties were way better!

  13. April 2, 2014 8:07 pm

    You do have quite a blogroll. I love browsing other blogger’s collections. There are often some great finds there.

    • April 2, 2014 8:12 pm

      It took me a while to get going with it, but now it seems I’m on a roll. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. April 2, 2014 9:02 pm

    Pouts;( wordpress.org doe not offer this feature, so I am creating my own list of links that I plan to add to a text widget to accomplish the same thing. Thank you for giving me the idea.

    As to your questions, I was the kid in between. Sometimes I got in, and sometimes I did not. I love the way you have your blog set up. You have given me several inspirational ideas. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • April 2, 2014 9:19 pm

      I’m so glad to know that I’ve inspired you! (And I think your blog is kinda cool too, actually. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  15. April 2, 2014 11:56 pm

    THis is a good one . . . you just reminded me I need to update mine . .. I think some people on my site don’t even blog anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • April 3, 2014 2:25 pm

      I know I have some housecleaning to do on my blogroll as well. I’m just always so sad to see some of my blog buddies go. I keep hoping they’ll come back!

  16. April 3, 2014 1:02 am

    I’ve got to get on it with my blogroll! I’ve done some blogroll style posts but haven’t actually put my blogroll together. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • April 3, 2014 2:27 pm

      Hi Boingy Dog
      Your handle makes me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚
      My blogroll is a real time saver when I’m looking for a particular site. I guess it’s like bookmarks, but for the rest of the world to share!

  17. April 21, 2014 10:38 pm

    My blogroll is pretty short, and only includes blogs I visit frequently that I think would appeal to people who enjoy my blog.

    • April 22, 2014 6:45 pm

      I think mine has gotten a little out of hand, but I don’t know how to shorten it! Everyone on it deserves to be there. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

