Skip to content

Backstage at the Blog: A is for Art Text

April 1, 2014

A Β© A Scenic Route-croppedAnd we’re off!

The first (and, as you’ll see when the challenge proceeds, very important) bit of software I rely on here at A Scenic Route is a lovely little program by the name of Art Text. It’s produced by a company called BeLight Software, who also makes programs for interior design and other graphics projects.

Like all the programs I use most often, the learning curve is intuitive, the cost nominal, and it comes as a free demo. Of course, I got mine with the 100 extra fonts and am saving up for the Font Kit featuring 600 of those puppies.

Here’s a screen shot of an upcoming letter under construction:Screen shot 2014-03-16 at 5.38.49 PM

The only drawback? I could spend way too much time designing cool titles, and less time writing!

How about you? Where are you getting your letters for the A to Z challenge? Got any fonts for me?

(Here’s your link back to the A to Z Challenge Sign Up list.)

36 Comments
  1. April 1, 2014 6:38 am

    I would love to have a tool like this, well, first I’d love the patience to learn a tool like this. I’m stealing my letters from a fellow blogger. He’s super talented – like you!

    Happy A-Z =)

    Elsie
    AJ’s wHooligan in the A-Z Challenge

    • April 1, 2014 5:24 pm

      Welcome to A Scenic Route, Elsie!
      Thanks! πŸ™‚
      Art Text is actually super easy to use though, and I bet you could pick it up in a snap too. πŸ™‚

  2. April 1, 2014 6:48 am

    Day 1 and I’ve already been surprised, entertained and inspired. Your A letter is beautiful, and the software recommendation very helpful. I drew my own amaturish letters, but had fun doing them. A budding artist must start somewhere! Thanks and congrats on creative start!

    • April 1, 2014 5:27 pm

      Wait till you see the rest of my letters. πŸ˜‰
      Glad you liked the post. I’ll try to keep them coming!

  3. April 1, 2014 7:49 am

    I was lazy and just used the letters as provided on the A to Z website. lol This program looks very interesting though…I’ll have to look into it!

    • April 1, 2014 5:28 pm

      Hi Tracey,
      You know, I didn’t pay attention and had no idea A to Z provided letters! But I sure had fun making mine. πŸ™‚

  4. April 1, 2014 8:23 am

    Hey, but your letters will be colorful! That counts for something.

    • April 1, 2014 5:29 pm

      Oh yes, they sure will! Wait till I unleash the rest of them. πŸ˜‰

  5. April 1, 2014 9:12 am

    I’ll probably use the ones on the A-Z website, too. I love yours, though. Very cool!

    • April 1, 2014 5:30 pm

      Thanks, Melinda! The A-Z letters are nice, but my letters are Muse approved. πŸ˜‰

  6. April 1, 2014 10:04 am

    I like doing the design, too. I could spend many hours and days on it, and never find the time to write.
    All the best with the A-Z.

    • April 1, 2014 5:33 pm

      Hi Fanny,
      Exactly! Part of the reason my posts take so long to make is that everything has to be laid out just right. I shudder to think what would happen if I tried to make my own book covers!

      Welcome to A Scenic Route! πŸ™‚

  7. melissamaygrove permalink
    April 1, 2014 11:44 am

    Ooo. Carrie Butler would drool over this, I’m sure.
    That’s a source of distracting bunny trails, but FUN bunny trails. *grin*

    My cover sure looks pretty up there on your sidebar. Thank you! πŸ˜€

    • April 1, 2014 5:34 pm

      Your cover looks gorgeous on my sidebar! I think I’ll keep it there for a while. πŸ™‚

  8. April 1, 2014 5:46 pm

    Ooooh, the letter you designed is beautiful and the software is tempting, but I don’t need another distraction. I’m afraid I’d get wrapped up in it for hours. πŸ™‚

    • April 1, 2014 5:54 pm

      Hi Melissa!
      I know, tell me about it! This little bit of software has been teasing me for a while now, and A-Z was the perfect excuse to give it a spin. πŸ™‚

      Welcome to A Scenic Route!

  9. April 2, 2014 3:10 am

    I am hopeless when it comes to artistic design stuff so I just don’t do it. You know what letter I’m on with the challenge from the title of the post. I do love your font designer though and really wish I could use things like this. Your A looks great!

    • April 2, 2014 6:47 pm

      Thanks, Rebecca!
      I did some art in college, so I think I’ll always be trying to make things pretty. πŸ™‚

  10. April 2, 2014 3:15 am

    I love this “A” you’ve come up with, great work! I’m using the official ones on one of my blogs but on http://thescriptbible.wordpress.com/ I’m making my own ones as well, which are more like picture edits than actual fonts. And yes, it’s time consuming but on the other hand, it’s great to turn off the mind from the usual chatters πŸ™‚

    • April 2, 2014 6:49 pm

      Yes, I think what attracts me to working on side projects like pretty letters is that it uses a different part of my brain, giving my wordy self a rest. πŸ™‚
      Now you’re just encouraging me!

  11. April 2, 2014 4:19 am

    I’ve never heard of that software before. I wish I had more time to use something like that as I looks and sounds awesome.
    Who knows? If I grab myself the demo I might find myself an hour or two to play with it one day.

    • April 2, 2014 6:51 pm

      Hi Ileandra,
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!
      If you like playing with fonts (like I do!) this software is a dream to work with. πŸ™‚

      • April 3, 2014 2:57 am

        I used to do a lot of playing with the Qwenya fonts to get pretty Lord of The Rings style text.
        It was great, but nobody could read it! And I could, but it took me ages to decipher each character, because that particular font set didn’t simple assign a letter to a keystroke. *facepalm*
        It took ages to write anything!

        So I’ll bet what you’re using is a hell of a lot simpler. πŸ˜‰

        • April 3, 2014 9:36 am

          Wow! Yeah, it’s nothing like that. Just A through Z and all the usual symbols. πŸ™‚

  12. April 2, 2014 7:15 am

    Ooh I want, I want! The hardest part I’ve found in designing covers is finding fonts I like amongst the limited ones offered by Adobe Photoshop. But oh my goodness I would lose HOURS!

    • April 2, 2014 6:53 pm

      But just think of how much fun it would be, Amanda! For some strange reason I’ve found that I adore fonts … and I’m so excited to have a chance to share them with the world. πŸ™‚

  13. April 2, 2014 8:56 pm

    Kirsten you are such a treasure trove of neat software to help with the writing and the blogging. I love stuff like this. Thank you for sharing it. Great blog post.

  14. April 2, 2014 9:07 pm

    Pouting again ;( It is only available for Mac or Windows 8. My computers is Windows 7. I will have to add a computer with Windows 8 to my manifest board. Something to look forward to.

    • April 2, 2014 9:17 pm

      Wow, I’m surprised about that! My Mac is relatively old (going on four years now. 😦 ) but I had no trouble getting ArtText to run on it. (Okay, it’s a little slow but still, considering what it can do, I’m good with that.)
      Gotta save our pennies for the next machine, I guess. πŸ™‚

      • April 4, 2014 8:23 pm

        It was created for Mac, so runs on any version, but only Windows 8 for PC. They probably just made it compatible this year. A lot of Apple programs will not run on PC. I have thought about trying a Mac, but I have always had a PC, so have never tired it, because of expense, and if I find I prefer PC it would be a waste of money for me. One day I might tho.

  15. April 21, 2014 10:36 pm

    What a nifty tool! I’ll have to play with this.

  16. May 5, 2014 5:43 am

    I’m starting back at A. I didn’t get a chance to read all the blogs of the a-Z challenge – you know me and my intermittent internet connections. I’m heading back to Canada, and once I get there, yippee, it’s daily internet access. I’m looking forward to reading the blogs.

    • May 7, 2014 9:03 am

      I hope you like the posts! I had so much fun making them. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

