Backstage at the Blog: The A-Z Challenge

Image courtesy of David Ritter @ stock.xchngBlogging from A-Z

Consider yourself warned.

Some weathermen predict April showers, but here at A Scenic Route there’s a different kind of storm brewing. This April, every day except Sunday, expect an illuminating and entertaining post from me in your Inbox.

Every. Single. Day!

What’s the occasion, you ask? Isn’t A Scenic Route supposed to be a leisurely and laid back blog, not given to frantic posting to meet arbitrary deadlines?

The impetus behind this insanity is called the A-Z Challenge, where all kinds of writers all over the worldwide web share daily posts featuring one letter of the alphabet from, you guessed it, A to Z during the month of April.

My month of madness will have a theme, which I came up with thanks to some fun correspondence with blogging buddy and fellow How To Think Sideways Boot Camp member Juneta Key. I’m calling it ‘Backstage at the Blog‘ and will feature a different blogging tool I rely on here at A Scenic Route for each letter, giving readers a behind the scenes glimpse of how my posts come together.

What might be the biggest challenge of all for me is that my posts will come in at under two hundred okay, two hundred and fifty words. Promise!

Will I manage to find a tantalizing topic for each letter of the alphabet? Or will I fall back to my wordy ways with a thousand word rant somewhere around the letter ‘J’?

Stay tuned for the A-Z challenge to find out!

To see other A-Z challenge themes click on this linky.

Stage lights image courtesy of David Ritter @ stock.xchng
28 thoughts on “Backstage at the Blog: The A-Z Challenge

  1. Dang. Everyone I know has really cool themes this year.
    I’m going to enjoy reading yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Good luck. I had a blast last year and am going to visit a lot of the blogs this year, but not participate in A-Z. I found it’s a great exercise in brevity. My blog posts have been short ever since, but I do think people appreciate that!

    1. Exactly, Shell ๐Ÿ™‚
      I figured this would be a great opportunity to practice short blog posts and meet some cool bloggers while I’m at it.

  3. Now there’s an idea I haven’t come across yet! I’m very interested to see what you come up with for some of the more, shall we say…FRUSTRATING letters. lol

    1. Hi Tracey Lynn
      Welcome to A Scenic Route ๐Ÿ™‚
      It’s funny, I had no trouble coming up with topics for X and Q, and even Z, but the letters O and for some reason K still elude me!

  4. A-Z rocks!I’m doing it again this year! I have a theme and I hope by creating two-hundred and fifty fascinating words every night for 28 days (!!!!) I’ll find my way back to my novel, energized and ready to write.

    1. Twenty-eight days? You’re scaring me- did I miss something?
      I’m definitely excited by this challenge, and glad to have someone who’s done it before by my side. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Sweet cheese! This sounds like an epic good time. Yup. Going to have to be here…unless I get trapped in the time continuum as I try to get my time-stopper functioning again. You never know. My scientists and I are kind of on the outs since I broke the teleportation device when they started escaping. Um, yeah. Long story.

    1. LOL!
      Let me know when you’ve got the time-stopper working, because I can sure use it over here.
      I’m looking forward to your posts as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I think you’re going to get a kick out of my letters. I had way too much fun with my font software (my first entry of the month, btw. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  6. Okay jaw dropped, lol. My name was mentioned in a blog. *grinning wildly* I’m glad I gave you the inspiration. What a thank you, and thank you. Good luck with A-Z. I thought about doing it, but it intimidates me a little, but it is not April yet. I have plans to try and write my first draft of my novel in NaNoWriMo Aprill, so I am afraid both would be too much for me at this early stage of my development, lol. Good Luck!, and I’ll be reading and cheering you on.

    1. I try to always give credit where it’s due, Juneta, and since I was so excited to share what I’ve learned here with you, I realized what a great theme it would be.
      Believe me, this challenge intimidates me too! But I struggle with posting regularly and in short segments, so I thought this would be a good way to practice that.
      Good luck with NaNoWriMo! I’ll be cheering for you too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Tina,
      Welcome to A Scenic Route. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I only recently became aware that my posts are far too wordy, so this challenge might be the perfect way to practice brevity. We’ll see if I can contain myself. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Hi – i found you In Tina’s comments at Life Is Good and you sound way too confident for a newbie blogger ๐Ÿ™‚ can’t wait for your behind-the-scenes tutorial and word raves – my meltdown came on the letter F but it was smooth sailing after that. Well, except now I’m stuck on N. Will see you in April! Sammy at http://www.bemuzin.com

    1. Hi Sammy,
      Heh, I’m on F right now myself and cruisin’ along, but I’m worried … there are so many letters left!
      I’ve been messing around at this blog for three years now actually, but I don’t get out much, so in some ways I still feel like a newbie.
      I’m looking forward to some fun in April. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks, Miss Andi! Now I just have to get these posts written. ๐Ÿ™‚ (This challenge is turning out to be harder than it looks!)

Comments are closed.