Skip to content

Cheers, Cavanaugh Blogfest

December 10, 2012

11.19 Cavanaugh Blogfest LIVEIt is my great pleasure to be a part of the raucous party known as the Cheers, Cavanaugh Blogfest and raise a virtual toast to the enigmatic but influential writer who has made the blogosphere a better place to be. While the self-proclaimed Ninja seems to be everywhere at once, he remains an enigma to us all. It is time to fuel the rumors and postulate on the man behind the myth!

This blogfest comes with prompts to keep us from waxing on endlessly, so let’s get to them:

  1. What does Alex look like? He is a broad-shouldered god with dark wavy hair, towering in his leather boots, wearing a cloak embroidered with a Floyd Rose Tremolo.
  2.  Who could play Alex in a documentary? Christian Bale – rugged, cerebral, and blessed with a mellifluous command of the English language-would be perfect!
  3. Who does Alex remind you of? Since Alex is the rock star of the blogosphere, Matthew Bellamy of Muse, with his hot licks and prowess with women would be someone that Alex reminds me of.
  4. Write a flash fiction using all these prompts: ( Cavanaugh, Ninja, IWSG, Cosbolt, Guitar)

Apocalypse AvertedImage courtesy of Rodrigo Tambem

Drowning in a river of insecurity, a forsaken writer tapped out her final post.

“Help me, IWSG! The writing community has scorned me!”

Alex J. Cavanaugh, hunched over his guitar, engrossed in strumming the last minor seventh of his requiem to the end of the world, heard her cry. Since his Cosbolt was in the shop, the Ninja engaged his trusty blog hop companions. “A writer is in need! Encourage her!”

The blogosphere heard his entreaties. The hapless writer nearly spilled her Michelob over the keyboard when she saw all the comments awaiting moderation.

“Keep going!” “First draft always stinks.”

Before you could say CassaStar, she was back at her keyboard, finishing the novel that would take the world by storm.

How about you? Has there been one person who makes the blogosphere a happier, saner place for you to visit?

Thanks Mark Koopmans, Morgan Shamy, David Powers King, and Stephen Tremp for hosting and thanks, Alex J. Cavanaugh, for all the kind words of encouragement and inspiration! You Rock!

Image courtesy of Rodrigo Tambem @ Stock.xchng
35 Comments
  1. December 10, 2012 8:44 am

    Great post for a great person, Alex is one in a million.

    Yvonne.

    • December 10, 2012 6:40 pm

      Yup, I’m glad for the chance to give some kudos! Welcome to A Scenic Route, Yvonne. 🙂

  2. December 10, 2012 10:29 am

    Ooo. Great post! 🙂

    • December 10, 2012 6:41 pm

      Thanks, Melissa!
      Yours rocked as well. 🙂

  3. Elise Fallson permalink
    December 10, 2012 11:33 am

    I really enjoyed your flash! Nicely done and “Keep going!” (:

    • December 10, 2012 6:42 pm

      Hi Elise,
      Thank you so much–it helps to have a great dude like Alex to feature in it. 🙂
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!

  4. December 10, 2012 12:00 pm

    Oh my gosh…. this was fantastic. You had me at Matthew Bellamy! *swoon* And I picked up on the “Apocalypse” bit… clever! Oh man… yeah… I think I’ll keep the Matt Bellamy idea for a while… hahaha….

    • December 10, 2012 6:44 pm

      I had a bit trouble with that one, until I looked up greatest guitarists of the 00’s, then it hit me–it had to be Muse, swoonworthy and inspiring. 🙂

  5. Melissa Bradley permalink
    December 10, 2012 12:52 pm

    Matthew Bellamy, never heard of him, but I will now have to check him out. I loved your flash piece. i could see it all in my mind’s eye. It so sounds like something Alex would do.

    • December 10, 2012 6:46 pm

      Hi Melissa,
      Glad you liked the flash fiction! It was fun to write about someone who makes the Internet such a fun place to be.
      Welcome to A Scenic Route!

  6. December 10, 2012 6:21 pm

    Love reading everyone’s responses:-) Cheers!!

    • December 10, 2012 6:47 pm

      Hey Jamie,
      Yeah, I’m lovin’ the blog hop too! It’s like we’re all hanging out together for a while. 🙂

  7. December 10, 2012 6:45 pm

    I love your flash piece. No wonder Alex is such a ninja, he knows how to call on his IWSG army. This one is really fun. I think he’ll enjoy it.

    • December 10, 2012 6:48 pm

      Yes, it is fun! I had a blast putting this one together.

  8. December 11, 2012 2:09 am

    Christian Bale. Really? Now I keep picturing Alex in a Batman costume. HAHA. Great flash fiction.

    • December 11, 2012 3:23 pm

      Thanks, Sydney! Kind of goes with the cloak/superhero theme I have going. 😉

  9. December 11, 2012 2:38 pm

    I can see Christian Bale. Maybe Alex can use a really cool car like Batman, only shaped like a guitar.

    • December 11, 2012 3:24 pm

      Hi Stephen,
      Great idea, and if it had a Floyd Rose tremolo on the side it would be even cooler!
      Welcome to A Scenic Route. 🙂

  10. December 11, 2012 2:51 pm

    Great piece of flash fiction, another insecure writer saved. Yay for Alex!

    • December 11, 2012 3:26 pm

      Hi Suzanne,
      Thanks. 🙂 Alex has done so much for us insecure writers, I’m thrilled to have a chance to let him know!
      I’m glad you stopped by A Scenic Route.

  11. December 12, 2012 5:40 am

    Alex is definitely one of those people, but I have quite a few of them that makes my blogging experience a sunnier place. You included.

    And everyone else who visits to leave nice, meaningful comments. 😉

    • December 12, 2012 12:57 pm

      Awww, thanks, Misha. Welcome to A Scenic Route!
      What pleasant surprise it was to discover the Insecure Writer’s Support Group at the start of my adventures in blogging. I’m glad to have an opportunity to show my appreciation. 🙂

      Cheers!

  12. December 12, 2012 10:43 am

    Hi Kirsten! Wow, I loved the flash fiction. It shows our hero in his true light. 🙂

    • December 12, 2012 12:59 pm

      Thanks, Candilynn! I’ve met so many fabulous writers through IWSG, it’s amazing.
      I’m glad you stopped by. 🙂

  13. December 12, 2012 2:10 pm

    Ah you’ve spilt the Michelob, too 🙂

    It happens and like mah Mamma once said, no point in crying over spilled beer – go get a sponge, quick!”

    Cheers, Kirsten, for participating in AlexFest 🙂

    • December 13, 2012 7:22 pm

      Hey there, Mark,
      It’s only Michelob! Now, if it was a fine Pinot Noir, I’d be really upset. 😉

      Thanks for hosting AlexFest–it was bunches of fun!

  14. T.F.Walsh permalink
    December 12, 2012 7:29 pm

    Really enjoyed your answers, and especially your flash fiction… 🙂

    • December 13, 2012 7:24 pm

      Thanks, Tania! I had fun writing it. 🙂

  15. December 14, 2012 1:10 am

    Hi honey, I’m doing the official bit 🙂

    I’ve nominated you for The Liebster award!

    Please don’t feel obligated to accept, but if you’d like to take part all the info is here.

    http://the-view-outside.com/2012/12/14/the-liebster/

    Xx

  16. December 17, 2012 12:47 pm

    Great job! Love your entry.

    • December 17, 2012 10:02 pm

      Hi Ciara,
      Thanks! And welcome to A Scenic Route. 🙂

  17. December 17, 2012 8:13 pm

    Alex sounds terribly dashing.

    • December 17, 2012 10:03 pm

      Indeed, he is! Though there is much speculation about his true identity. 😉

Comments are closed.

