Skip to content

Playlist: Swan Song

December 1, 2012

Now that NaNoWriMo is over, I’m looking over the devastation for the spoils of my achievement. Obviously, 78k or so words of new draft now resides on my hard drive, triple backed up and awaiting revision. But what else have I brought back with me?Image courtesy of Tijmen van Dobbenburg @ stock.xchng

There’s the golden paperclip I won in a word war.

And a playlist. This is what I turn to when I want to remember the joy of creating this story. My list was actually much, much longer than this, but I’ve gathered the most essential songs to showcase the music I chose to accompany the imminent end of civilization as we know it-lots of instrumentals, electronics, and angst.

Click here to enjoy it hassle-free on YouTube.

Playlist-Swansong

Image courtesy of Gregorius GP Buir @ Big StockImage courtesy of Gregorius GP Buir @ Big Stock

Do you bring home souvenirs from your writing journeys? If so, what are they?

(Images courtesy of Tijmen van Dobbenburg @ stock.xchng and  Gregorius GP Buir @ Big Stock)
12 Comments
  1. December 2, 2012 2:40 am

    Hey,

    I am super impressed to see Depeche and Above&Beyond in the same playlist (and Delirium, too 🙂

    I thought I was the only one who mixed those three 🙂

    • December 2, 2012 4:42 pm

      Hi Mark, 🙂
      No playlist is complete without Depeche Mode in it! I’ve actually toned this one down a bit, because it had REM in it, and Nick Drake for good measure. But I see nothing wrong with mixing my trance with my eighties. 😉
      I do love my music–I couldn’t write without it, strange as it is …

      It’s always good to see you around these parts. 🙂

  2. December 2, 2012 1:16 pm

    Yeah, the crazy play lists. I’m always worried someone will be looking over my shoulder and say “Oh my god, do you even have taste?”

    Seriously, my play lists are… eclectic.

    • December 2, 2012 4:48 pm

      Some of my playlists will forever remain in the darkest recesses of my iTunes folders. Sometimes, though, they make a bit of sense!
      Taste? Hah! What the writing Muse wishes is my command. Most of the inspirations are pretty cool, but a few years back I wrote a whole book based on ‘I Wanna Be A Cowboy’ by Boys Don’t Cry.
      Seriously.

  3. December 3, 2012 2:02 am

    Congratulations! 78K is amazing!!!!! 🙂

    Xx

    • December 3, 2012 6:41 am

      Thanks, Vikki!
      When it comes to word counts, I sometimes get carried away!

  4. December 3, 2012 8:43 am

    Love the playlist idea. I need to become more tech-savvy. LOL

    • December 3, 2012 9:14 pm

      Have you tried iTunes? Highly addictive for music lovers everywhere!
      That’s one of the things I love most about the Internet though. I can get my music fix any time of day or night … not sure if that’s a good thing. 😉

  5. December 3, 2012 12:38 pm

    You probably noticed that Above&Beyond wound up in my playlist as well. Great songs here, I think I like making and listening to playlists as much as I like writing and reading books. Now finish editing so I can read your stuff!

    • December 3, 2012 9:17 pm

      🙂
      I sure did, and that is part of what inspired me to post this. The playlists and the books are always so closely intertwined it sometimes feels like cheating, though I suppose I can always claim it’s part of my ‘process.’
      Editing is going splendidly! Soon, soon, I’ll have something ready.
      I hope …

  6. December 3, 2012 9:26 pm

    Whoa, that is quite a playlist. Congrats on such a great word count and your golden paperclip. One of my spoils of war is a finished first draft, which I now plan to tame into shiny submission.

    • December 4, 2012 6:44 am

      Thanks, Shell!
      Good luck with that first draft, and the subsequent submission! 😉

Comments are closed.

