Skip to content

A Matter of Time

November 15, 2012

Today marks the halfway point in this marvelous adventure called NaNoWriMo, and I finally had some time to catch up on my correspondence. I found this letter among the many diversions in the Muse’s toy chest. My main character in The Whole of the Moon, this year’s NaNo novel, has responded to my letter from a few weeks ago. Here is what he wrote:

The Year of Our Mission: Three hundred and Thirty Six

Lunar Month: Lilac

Dear fair Lady Larke,

Though it is always a great pleasure to hear from you, I fail to understand your peculiar autumn ritual of writing a prodigious number of words in one month. Nevertheless I will stand at the ready should you need my assistance in this endeavor.

My misspent youth is not a source of pride to me, but as you have represented Rigel’s story fairly, I am optimistic that you will be as unequivocal in the narrative of mine as well.

My work on the DRAGNs was done out of necessity, and as they say, necessity is the mother of invention. Please don’t fail to emphasize Angelo’s involvement in the development of the early prototypes. Without him I may never have had the impetus to move forward with the designs, and the future of your planet might have turned out quite differently.

As far as my unexpected visit to you is concerned, that was not a hologram. I haven’t the technology to project the image such a large distance. It was actually me. There is a time loop that has not yet been closed, and I have also encountered this displaced younger version of myself on occasion. It is quite a chilling experience. As I have no memory of this incident, I sincerely hope that my younger self did not disturb you and carried himself with the decorum of a Lunar officer.

I apologize that I was not as forthcoming last year, and for the resulting rearrangement of the chronicle that you are in process of writing. I intend to make it up to you in my cooperation with your efforts this year.

Your Most Humble Servant,

.

Teragus Swansong

.

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo, how is the writing going? Have you ever encountered a mysterious plot development only a time loop could solve?

 

19 Comments
  1. November 15, 2012 10:29 pm

    Not yet on the chrono schism, but as for the NaNo thing: I’ve wondered sometimes why anyone in their right mind would schedule this event for a holiday/fall cleaning month!

    Nevertheless, at 43.8% of NaNo-Lite.

    • November 17, 2012 3:53 pm

      Good question! I’ve gotten so used to doing Nano in November that I don’t even question the insanity of it–but you’re right. What would be the harm in writing a novel in the month of, say, April, after taxes are done but before summer vacations start? I might have to do that sometime. 😉

      Happy writing for NaNo-Lite!

  2. November 15, 2012 11:52 pm

    Never had the time loop issue, but all sorts of other problems that magic or something else needed to resolve a sticky situation. Though it can’t be too much of a miracle or no one would believe it. Sounds like your character is cooperating. That would be nice for a change 🙂 NaNo is going great, around 35K words and ahead of schedule (should be at 25K as of tomorrow). Getting a little punch drunk though and have lost track of where I will break my story between Book One and Book Two (I will be asking your opinion after November). Just about another 15K words and Book One will be done (I think). Keep up the great work — you are almost finished with NaNo and it is only half over. I don’t know anyone else that far along.

    • November 17, 2012 3:55 pm

      Awesome work, Papabear! You’re doing great, I just tend to get carried by this. One of these days I’ll come to my senses and wonder what possessed my to write so many words.
      Are you going to keep writing for Nano after you finish Book One?

  3. November 16, 2012 5:17 am

    Great to see you doing NaNoWriMo and going so strongly! Almost there!!! Well done.Love the letter 🙂
    Prue x

    • November 17, 2012 3:58 pm

      Hey Prue,
      Nano and the idea of writing so many words without worrying about whether they’re any good is just irresistible to me! I’m glad you like the letter. Sometimes I get the strangest ideas, and it’s so much fun to share them. 🙂
      Thanks for the encouragement!

  4. November 16, 2012 11:28 am

    Whew – halfway! Congrats. Just keep it up and you will get there.

    • November 17, 2012 3:59 pm

      Thanks, Kristina! My enthusiasm is flagging a bit at the moment, but a good night’s rest and I should be ready for more word count insanity. 🙂

      • November 18, 2012 6:17 am

        I’m cheering for you. Hope you got some rest and are ready to go! Good luck.

  5. November 16, 2012 12:02 pm

    Oh yeah, I’ve got the time rift problem, but that’s because I give myself permission to play outside the continuity. I fix continuity later when I go back through and rewrite everything.

    I’m really digging NaNo this year (though I haven’t written a word in the last two days!!), because this is the first time I’ve ever really let myself actually do it. I’m having a blast.

    Keep writing, and To NaNo!

    • November 17, 2012 4:04 pm

      I’m glad you’re getting into the swing of NaNo! It’s so exhilarating to write whatever strikes me, and I’m almost always pleasantly surprised with what I get.
      As far as continuity issues, I have those too. In fact I can see some redundancies in characters I will have to address in revision as well.
      But for now, it’s all about the word count. Fun. 🙂

  6. November 16, 2012 5:19 pm

    How fun! I wish I was doing NaNo! It’s edits, edits, and more edits for this girl right now and I dread turning on my computer:-(

    • November 17, 2012 4:05 pm

      Aww, that does sound like a drag. I’ve found that I need to alternate editing phases with first draft writing. It seems to enhance both processes to have a little of the other waiting in the wings.
      Just think of the wonderful book you’ll have when you’re done though!

  7. November 18, 2012 7:06 pm

    Lilacs just made an appearance in my story, so it tickled me to see “lilac” and “Autumn” in your letter, though I know it has nothing to do with me. I’m getting late-stage WriMo brain. I had a writing problem I could not solve without a time machine, but not really a plot problem or a time loop. Glad to hear things are humming along for you!

    • November 18, 2012 9:18 pm

      It seemed cruel to deprive the Lunar colonists of flowers, so I wrote them in. 🙂 And WriMo Brain, me too. It’s a wonder I get anything done at all!

  8. T.F.Walsh permalink
    November 25, 2012 6:47 pm

    My NaNo started off well and then tripped and never got back up… I blame real life…:) So I’m focusing on editing instead.

    • November 28, 2012 12:54 am

      Editing is always time well spent! Sometimes I’m not so sure about this Nano, other than I’m having fun with it.
      Good for you on giving it a shot though. 🙂

  9. November 27, 2012 5:06 pm

    I know you’re busy with NaNoWriMo…but I want you to start blogging again!!!!

    • November 28, 2012 12:53 am

      🙂 Awwww, thanks for noticing! I miss posting here too.
      My Nano has gobbled me up like a Thanksgiving turkey. I’m writing like crazy, but my blog is sad and lonely.
      I’ll be back soon!

Comments are closed.

