The Pictures In My Head

Why do I write? Really?

In the beginning, before I ever thought I’d even finish a book draft, I wrote for the pictures the words made in my head. Here’s one that found me only yesterday:

The Muse lies on his back with his raven-feathered wings spread out to both sides over the moonlit grass. He plays his guitar, its black metallic finish reflecting the starry sky, as he watches the galaxies spin in the firmament above us. I listen and I write, translating his thoughts, his wry observations and his whimsy into words.

Sometimes, when the clouds roll in and lightning splits the sky, he stands behind me, holds his hands against my face, and makes me look when I’d rather look away—when I don’t want to feel anymore. When I’d rather sleep, or drink, or run away to kill the pain, he says,

“Look, listen, weep if you must, but live. You only have one shot at this life. Make it count—for me—because though I’m imaginary, I am the only part of you that has a chance to live forever.”

*Sniff*

“Can I stop now?” I ask him.

“You may. But, please, for me, soon, words? In a dark room, just you and I?”

“For you, Muse, anything.”

What kind of pictures have your words sent you? Does your Muse chase you into dark rooms?

In a programming note:

I’m excited to announce that I will be posting more regularly here, as I am winding down my other blog. ‘Write A Book With Me’ has moved back to its founder, Holly Lisle, and I’ve decided one blog is plenty for me! Stay tuned for shorter posts two to three times a week (this is the scenic route, remember? So no hustle!), commenting on my progress or lack thereof, alternating with miscellaneous literary observations fitting into my theme of ‘Postcards from my Journey into Noveldom.’

And what is this ‘Noveldom’ I speak of and that annoys the heck out of spell check?

My noveldom is a place where anything can happen. People can travel faster than the speed of light. Science can discover cures for horrid diseases. My noveldom is populated by birds and music and warm starry nights on beaches where sand sinks between your toes. Here, in my world, good can triumph over evil. Love can last forever.

Let’s explore it together, shall we? What lies in your noveldom?

13 thoughts on “The Pictures In My Head

  1. Some of the dark rooms that my Muse creates are a bit scary. But they are really kool. I would be worried, but my Muse also creates some of the most romantic and come-from-behind scenes that I have scene (at least in my opinion). Congrats on cutting back on the number of websites you need to maintain — may you will remember what living is like :0)

    1. I definitely need to cut back on something! The ‘sleep’ versus ‘more coffee’ equilibrium has shifted too far in favor of ‘more coffee.’ 🙂

      As for the Muse, it has helped me so much to personify this part of me that comes up with all that crazy stuff. Somehow, assigning some of the weird things, as well as the drop dead romantic stuff, to another person makes it easier to accept that I need to write this down. 🙂

  2. My muse appears to me as one of my characters. He threatens me with forgetfulness. “Get in the chair, girl, and clatter those keys before you forget the wonderful ideas I’m giving you. He is a smarta**, impatient and pushy. I agree with you that he and his companions are my only chance of living forever and they deserve to live!
    Oh, and my world is purely space opera-fun, danger, romance and the occasional complex thought.
    I’m looking forward to seeing lots more posts from you.

    1. 🙂
      I totally agree with you about the forgetting part. For the longest time I would get antsy and terrified that I would forget what floated through my head if I didn’t write it down that very instant! I’ve gotten better with that, and can usually keep that precious image alive for a day or two before I get around to writing it down in detail.
      Of course, sooner is always better, but there’s pesky things like sleeping and working that get in the way sometimes. 😉
      I’ve got one right now, in fact, that demands my attention!

      And thanks for the encouragement! I’m really looking forward to managing only one blog. 🙂

  3. Good to hear you’ll be posting more – I look forward to reading them:) My noveldom has endless possibilities – a place where my characters discover new worlds.

    1. Hi T.F. Walsh,
      From what I’ve read so far, your noveldom is a fascinating (and sometimes scary place) to be!
      I’m really excited to be blogging here, and it will be so much easier to have just one blogging home.

  4. Why is this blog not listed on the WABWM blogroll (or did I just miss it)? This was a lovely entry, though I can’t say that my muse is corporeal as yet. It seems to live in the shower and delight in staying just out of my grasp. Something like Peter Pan’s shadow.

    1. Muses are like that, but it’s fun to try and pin them down. Right now mine’s sitting on a big branch of the elm tree outside my window, smirking and smoking a funny cigarette.

      The links on WABWM were randomized so A Scenic Route wouldn’t always be on top! I need to stop being so self-effacing. How will I ever ‘build a platform’ this way? 😉
      I put the links in alphabetical order, in fact, Armchairauthor will be right up there too then, won’t it?

Comments are closed.