Skip to content

Playlist: Precipitation

April 20, 2012

… Like the fingers of angels drawing life from the parched ground. 

Rain and music have always felt like a part of the same continuum to me, so maybe that’s why I have linked them so inextricably in my novel. Naturally, my fascination with rain led to a playlist, and to coincide with the wettest month of the year in the midwestern United States, I offer this one.

Lots of variety here, folk, rock, retro, alternative. It seems lots of songwriters share my affinity for stormy weather. Enjoy!

Nice Weather for Ducks Lemon Jelly Lost Horizons
Rain In The Summertime The Alarm Eye of the Hurricane
Shadows In The Rain The Police Zenyatta Mondatta
Fool In The Rain Led Zeppelin In Through The Out Door
It Never Rains Dire Straits Love Over Gold
Flood Jars of Clay Jars of Clay
Tired of the Rain Black Stone Cherry Black Stone Cherry
Everyone Thinks I’m a Raincloud (When I’m Not Looking) Guided by Voices Half Smiles of the
Decomposed
So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry) REM Reckoning
Prayers For Rain The Cure Disintegration
Rainy Monday Shiny Toy Guns We Are Pilots
Naked Eye Luscious Jackson Fever In Fever Out
Let It Rain [Radio Edit] 4 Strings Ultra. Trance 2
Purify Balligomingo Purify Remixes EP
Reign UNKLE & Ian Brown Never, Never, Land
When the Rain Falls (12” Version) Mike Monday Smorgasbord
November Rain Guns N’Roses Use Your Illusion I
Steel Rain Chris Cornell Euphoria Morning
Love, Reign O’er Me Pearl Jam Love, Reign O’er Me (As featured in the Motion Picture “Reign Over Me”)
Let It Rain Eric Clapton Eric Clapton
Riders On The Storm The Doors L.A. Woman
The Rain Song Led Zeppelin Houses of the Holy
MLK U2 The Unforgettable Fire
Here Comes the Rain Again Coury Palermo Boxsideout V.I.
Florida Rain Matt Bauer The Island Moved In The Storm


Click here to listen to this playlist on youtube. 

What’s your favorite song about precipitation?

2 Comments
  1. April 30, 2012 12:10 am

    No Rain (Blind Melon); and while it actually doesn’t mention weather in the song anywhere, Phil Collins’ ‘In the air tonight’ always puts me in mind of an approaching storm.

    • April 30, 2012 6:09 pm

      Those are great suggestions, and, you’re right, ‘In the Air Tonight’ would fit this list just perfectly!
      It’s funny, how once the playlist is done, I always think of that last song or two that I should add. Right now, I’m considering ‘Like A Hurricane.’ I’m a little obsessive like that. 🙂

      I’m glad you stopped by!

Comments are closed.

