Skip to content

Who Me? A Meme?

March 22, 2012

So it seems there’s this meme going around, and A Scenic Route has been nominated. Such a statement would only make sense to someone familiar with the blogosphere, so I’ll explain.

Blogger extraordinaire, Jamie Ayres keeps up with all the latest trends, and has noticed my little blog and given me an opportunity to play along with the Lucky 7 Meme. The rules of this game are:

-Go to page 77 of your manuscript, count down seven lines or seven sentences. Then, post these on your blog.

So, here it is, exactly what I found when I opened to page 77:

Though the years had not been kind to Dr. Leonard Milo, Libra wished with all her heart she’d stayed behind and not followed William’s siren song into the netherworld.

She watched as Nicholas shook hands with the producer, though Nick’s posture suggested resignation not resolve. Nick started making his way towards the bar, greeting fans with staged enthusiasm. Libra knew his heart wasn’t in it. She knew from the stoop in his shoulders, from the way his gaze avoided his fans’ and the preoccupied way he answered their questions. He’d been this way before. When she knew him in life.

-Tag 7 other authors, and let them know they’re it!

Seven?! Okay, I think I can do that…well, maybe six…it’s getting late. And some of you only know me from the Write A Book With Me blog.

Anyway, I’d love to take a peek at:

Prue at What’s It All About? An even more dedicated writer than I am, your persistence, fortitude and talent is a constant source of inspiration to me.

Kristina Stanley at Kristina Stanley-The Writing and Cruising Lifestyle: Sailing and Writing–what’s not to like? Congrats on submitting ‘Burnt’ to your agent!

Roxanne Crouse at Roxanne Crouse Writer: Congrats on releasing your story ‘Fortune’!

Janet Walters at never2late2write: Keep those riveting excerpts coming!

‘Armchairauthor’ at Ink: Always something new and entertaining, from book reviews to novel nuggets, currently editing her completed novel ‘The Grove’

Mike Schulenberg at Mike Schulenberg-Realms of Perilous Wonder: You said it would be okay if I tagged you! Muw-hahaha…

You guys are all the best, and I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to in your writing. And thanks again, Jamie Ayres, for including me in the fun!

11 Comments
  1. March 23, 2012 12:01 am

    I liked it. Is this from “The Tempest’s Serenade?”

    • March 24, 2012 1:58 pm

      Thank you!
      Yes, this is from the first revision of Tempest’s Serenade. There are some more changes coming, but this is considerably closer to what the final product will be.

  2. March 23, 2012 8:14 am

    Hey Kirsten. I’ll definitely do this fun assignment. Thanks for tagging me.

    Janet

    • March 25, 2012 8:54 pm

      I loved your excerpt! I can’t wait to read more. You do such great dialogue. 🙂

  3. Prue permalink
    March 24, 2012 6:06 pm

    Thanks for tagging me, Kirsten. I’ll do this fun thing — soon 🙂
    It’s a mad time right now but more of that in my blog tomorrow.

    Thanks very much for the kind words about my blog. The only reason I manage to do it every week is it’s written in my diary! As are my writing days. I’m amazed and delighted that you’re inspired by my efforts. All I can say is that the feeling is mutual 🙂

    • March 25, 2012 8:58 pm

      I just love keeping in touch with other writers!
      Don’t worry if you can’t get to this. It’s only meant to be fun, as is everything on my blog. Life hands us too many obligations already. Blogging should not be one of them.

      I hope everything is alright. Keep us posted.

      • Prue permalink
        March 26, 2012 4:54 am

        Heh! A bit of fun is always good.
        Sadly, Mr Prue is ill again. Recovery from pneumonia is a long, drawn-out process and he’s been quite poorly again this last couple of weeks. Which is why I haven’t been around much.

  4. March 25, 2012 11:48 am

    Thanks for playing . . . I don’t think I’ve ever been called a Blogger extraordinaire, lol. Double thanks:):) Your book sounds interesting!

    • March 25, 2012 9:00 pm

      Thank you for nominating me!
      Reading your blog has taught me so much, and I always look forward to your posts. It seems there’s always some kind of a party going at the Jamie Ayres blog. 🙂

Comments are closed.

