Skip to content

Countdown to NaNoWriMo

October 11, 2011

Once again this November I plan to join thousands of other writers in pursuit of literary abandon as we write 50,ooo words in one month. I’m pretty happy with how my planning is going this year, in fact I even have a back cover blurb, just in case…you know, my novel ever were to be published.

It goes like this:

When Rigel Mondryan was a boy, the wizard Kairos told him stories of a time when the gods walked the earth. Kairos told him about the silver cities where the gods lived, and about the dragons that flew them from place to place. He said the gods had discovered the secret to eternal youth, had cured all diseases and could repair any wounds. They could create ghosts of themselves to speak with other gods. They read books on mirrors and drew their fingers across the glass to turn the pages.

But one day the gods saw that the magic was too powerful and that those who used it for evil would destroy the world they lived in. The gods took their magic with them and made a new home behind the moon.

Kairos disappeared before Rigel became a man, never to be seen again . Wizards did that sometimes. Wizardry was considered a dangerous profession; they said too much magic made a man susceptible to the wrath of the gods.

Rigel never believed the stories Kairos told him.

He is about to find out the wizard was right.

(Image courtesy of koma Bboy @ stock.xchng. Nice work, kind sir.)

4 Comments
  1. April 20, 2013 7:44 pm

    I love this! Can’t wait to see your finished product so that I can read it! (I know this is an old post but I’m going through the blogs I’m watching to make sure I like the blog, the writer, and feel right promoting them on my own blog.)

    • April 20, 2013 9:15 pm

      Hey OldWorldWriter, 🙂
      Welcome to my blog! How cool that you came upon some of my older posts, back when I was blogging all by my lonesome.
      This story is actually finished, but not revised yet, as it is Book Two of The Dragon’s Milk Chronicles. Book One is also finished, but you guessed it, not revised yet …
      HTRYN is taking me a long time.

      Thanks for taking a moment to comment. You made my day! 😀

      • April 20, 2013 9:19 pm

        I hear revision takes time. I wouldn’t know personally, I’ve yet to finish a first draft…. But I plan to correct that this year, just need the mind space so I can do it. Real life is consuming me. Can’t wait to read some of your other posts. You have a wonderful way with words. Maybe we can become writing buddies in the future. I’m always looking for a good writing buddy.

        • April 20, 2013 9:39 pm

          Revision has been difficult for me, but I’ve learned a LOT in the process, and it has helped me with every draft I’ve written since my first draft of my first novel.
          I totally get the real life complications. The only way I’ve found to wade through them is to write a little every day, even if it’s only a few hundred words, and not even necessarily story words. You might be amazed how that gets the creative juices flowing!
          Hang in there! 🙂

Comments are closed.

