Skip to content

Scene Titles-The Muse was Right

August 11, 2011

Yet another reason I’m glad I decided to jump into HTTS even though I’m still working on my revision.

Way back when I finished creating my new scenes in preparation for the block revision I ended up with unwieldy titles like FO-19 OM 39a/b and OM 148/151 or FO-1a OM 27. These were indispensable for locating the parts of the first draft that needed rearranging, but not so great to look at.

Can I have names? Please?

I have a very polite muse and he knows to ask nicely. I have enough Sturm and Drang in my life. Writing must remain my sanctuary.

“Of course you may.” I said, “But no dithering. Give me your best names quick, or I’ll assign boring ones.”

Scenes titles bubbled up like fizz in a freshly poured beer, and an hour or so later I had a list of scenes that looked like they could tell a story.

From this lesson I found out that I what I was doing straight from my gut was, in fact, doing it right! I’ll have to learn to trust my instincts more often.

As for scene titles, they were often given to me by the main character, whose snarky sense of irony is a mirror of my own. Sometimes my love for double meanings came along for the ride.

And, since this is MY blog, I’ll take the liberty of listing them all:

~*~

The Sky Loved the Sea

The Serpent’s Coils

Jack Daniels

He’s Just a Boy

A Gathering Storm

Causality

Stuart’s Shadow

Sapphire Eyes

Broken Wings

Instrument Failure

Get me Out of Here

Punch Buggy Blue

A Bad Dream?

Play your Music, Man

The Price for Sight

Emerald Green

Smoking Kills

Plan B and Tears

Requiem of Rain

Rescue

I am Real

Overcome

Unarmed

One Way Ticket

Welcome to LA

Remember Be Here Now

Don’t Stop Dreaming

A Message

She met Libra

The Dreamless Son

Gallery Reunion

What the Hell?

“She’s With Me”

No Place Like Home

New Strings

A Silver Thread

Dream Dancer’s Son

A Warning

Fish Tacos and Coronas

Into his Breath…

Danny

A Bad Trip

The Key of Sea

Escape

Staying Apart

Vows

Till Breath do us Part

Libra Returns

Draw Him In

Breathplay

Toujours

To the Night

One Soul per Person, Please

The Pool

X Marks the Spot

Mortal

Tears and Rain

Oxygen

The Beach House

Turn off the Switch

The Sea Loved the Sky (reprise)

The Shadow Stopped

~*~

I’ll let my readers guess which ones qualify as candy bar scenes, and which ones inserted themselves as I was writing…er, revising.

Comments are closed.

