Skip to content

A Bucketful of Words

July 24, 2011

“Take out another notebook, pick up another pen, and just write, just write, just write. In the middle of the world, make one positive step. In the center of chaos, make one definitive act. Just write. Say yes, stay alive, be awake. Just write. Just write. Just write.” ~ Natalie Goldberg

After celebrating another birthday, which I admit have been stacking up all too quickly, I came upon a realization. I really want to write a million words. I don’t want to wait until I finish my revision. I don’t want to wait until I’m good enough, fast enough, and have enough time to devote to the project. I want to do this now. Even though a million words in one year is just not something I’m ready to put on my plate right now.

But why time myself? I am, after all, on the scenic route. This is not a race. I just need to log the miles.

So I’ve decided to go for it and post my progress here on my blog for all to see. My conditions for counting words will be tailored to my own unique goals and circumstances, and are as follows:

  1. All words count, not just novel or story words. This includes morning words, critiques, revision words, blog posts, excerpts. I have issues with posting, so I’m letting this pass. If someone sees ’em, I count ’em.
  2. If I edit old words for eventual critique, they count. Same as above, editing is much, much harder for me than writing new words.
  3. If I post words for critique, they count. I don’t post much, so this should be an incentive for me to do so.
  4. No deadline for reaching the million words, no penalties for falling behind. A million words is a million words no matter how I get them.

I’m itching to get started. This should be fun.

Comments are closed.

